Священномученик Дионисий, епископ Александрийский

Дни памяти: 5 октября

      Священномученик Дионисий, епископ Александрийский, был в зрелом возрасте обращен в христианство знаменитым учителем Церкви Оригеном (III) и стал его учеником. Впоследствии был наставником Александрийской огласительной школы, а затем, в 247 году, поставлен во епископа Александрии.
      Много сил прилагал святитель Дионисий для защиты Православия от ересей и укреплял свою паству в твердом исповедничестве истинной веры во время гонений от императоров Декия (249-251) и Валериана (253-259).
      Святой епископ претерпел много страданий. Когда в Александрии появилась чума, святитель призвал свою паству ухаживать равным образом за больными христианами и язычниками и погребать умерших. О почивших своих чадах он писал: "Таким образом оставили жизнь лучшие из наших братьев. Сей род смерти - дело великого благочестия и твердой веры, ничем не ниже мученичества". Сам святой Дионисий не меньше паствы просиял делами любви и благотворительности. Скончался он в 264 или 265 году.
      Его сочинения изданы на русском языке под редакцией П. А. Дружинина. Казань. 1900. Трактат "О природе" перевел свящ. Муратов и издал в "Православном Обозрении", 1891, ч. II, с. 3-46.

Close window

Священномученик Дионисий, епископ Александрийский

Close window

The PriestMartyr Dionysios, Bishop of Alexandria

Commemorated on October 5

      The PriestMartyr Dionysios, Bishop of Alexandria, was at mature age converted to Christianity by the reknown teacher of the Church, Origen (III), and became his student. Afterwards, he was the head of the Alexandrian Catechetical School, and then in the year 247, he was elevated to bishop of Alexandria.
      Saint Dionysios exerted much effort for the defence of Orthodoxy from heresy, and he encouraged his flock in the firm confession of the True Faith during times of persecution under the emperors Decius (249-251) and Valerian (253-259).
      The holy bishop underwent much suffering. When a plague appeared in Alexandria, the saint called on his flock to tend sick christians and pagans alike, and to bury the dead. About the repose of his spiritual children he wrote: "By such manner the best of our brethren have departed life. This generation of the dead a deed of great piety and firm faith, no wise less a martyrdom". Saint Dionysios none the less illumined his flock with deeds of love and charity. He died in the year 264 or 265.

1996-2001 by translator Fr. S. Janos.

Close window

The
PriestMartyr Dionysios, Bishop of Alexandria

Close window