Преподобный Фома Малеин (Х)

Дни памяти: 7 июля

      Преподобный Фома Малеин (Х) до принятия иночества был военачальником. Могучий и храбрый, он участвовал во многих сражениях, приносил победы своим соотечественникам, за что пользовался славой и уважением. Но, стремясь всем сердцем к Богу, Фома оставил мир с его почестями и принял иноческий постриг.
      С великим смирением он посещал старцев-монахов, прося у них руководства в духовной жизни. Через несколько лет Фома получил благословение на уединенную пустынническую жизнь и, укрепленный особым откровением, полученным через святого пророка Божия Илию, удалился на гору Малея (восточная часть Афона). Пребывая в полном одиночестве, святой Фома боролся с невидимыми врагами с таким же мужеством, как раньше на войне с видимыми врагами отечества.
      Жизнь и подвиги святого Фомы не могли скрыться от окружающих, к нему стали стекаться люди, искавшие духовного руководства, а также страдавшие от болезней, ибо он получил от Бога благодать исцеления недугов.
      Многие верующие получали помощь по молитвам преподобного и по отшествии его к Богу (Х).

Close window

Venerable Thomas of Mt. Maleon

Commemorated on July 7

      Saint Thomas of Mt. Maleon was a military commander before accepting monasticism. Powerful and brave, he had participated in many a battle, and he brought victory to his countrymen, for which he gained glory and esteem. But, striving with all his heart towards God, Thomas left the world with its honours and he took monastic vows.
      With great humility he visited monastic-elders, asking of them guidance in the spiritual life. After several years Thomas received the blessing for solitary wilderness life and, strengthened in particular by a revelation through the holy prophet of God Elias, he settled on Mount Maleon (eastern part of Athos). Dwelling in complete seclusion, Saint Thomas fought with invisible enemies with suchlike a courage, as before he had against the visible enemies of his country.
      The life and deeds of Saint Thomas were not able to be concealed from the surrounding area. People began to flock to him seeking spiritual guidance, and even those suffering from sickness, since he received from God the blessing to heal infirmities.
      Many believers received help through the prayers of the monk and upon his departure to God (X).

1996-2001 by translator Fr. S. Janos.

Close window

                            

Close window