Святитель Василий, архиепископ Новгородский, по прозванию Калика

Дни памяти: 3 июля

      Святитель Василий, архиепископ Новгородский, по прозванию Калика, был священником в Новгороде и за добродетельную жизнь избран на Новгородскую кафедру. Святой Василий рукоположен в архиепископа Новгородского святым митрополитом Феогностом († 1353; память 14 марта) во Владимире Волынском в 1331 году. Он возглавлял Новгородскую кафедру в тяжелое время княжеских усобиц и внутренних раздоров в самом городе. Неоднократно он виделся с великим князем Московским Иваном Калитой, склоняя его к миру с Новгородом. В 1344 году, когда в Новгороде собрались для выбора посадника одновременно два, враждовавших между собой, веча, святитель примирил обе стороны. После двух опустошительных пожаров, бывших в Новгороде, святитель Василий проявил архипастырскую заботу о пострадавшем городе: на средства своей кафедры он помог восстановить сгоревшие здания, построил новый мост через Волхов, украсил храмы иконами. В Борисоглебском храме Новгорода хранилась написанная им икона святых благоверных князей Бориса и Глеба. Самоотверженная архипастырская деятельность святителя Василия была отмечена современником - летописцем так: "Дай ему, Господи, жить много лет на сем свете и на том поставь его одесную Себя, - он много потрудился для Церкви Твоей".
      Особенно ярко проявилась любовь святителя к пастве, когда по просьбе псковичей он без боязни прибыл в их город во время эпидемии моровой язвы. Святитель Василий совершил Божественную службу в трех церквах, обошел с Крестным ходом город, ободрил и утешил упавших духом жителей, но сам, на обратном пути в Новгород, заболел и скончался 3 июля 1352 года, положив, как добрый пастырь, душу свою за овец (Ин. 10, 11).
      Из его сохранившихся творений известно "Послание о земном рае", написанное в 1347 году и обращенное к епископу Тверскому Феодору Доброму. С именем святого архиепископа Василия связано церковное сказание о белом клобуке, присланном владыке в дар от Патриарха Константинопольского. По преданию, этот клобук был возложен святым равноапостольным Константином († 337; память 21 мая) на святого Сильвестра, папу Римского († 335; сведения о нем 2 января). Белый клобук святого Василия был для Русской Церкви символом преемственного перехода духовного средоточия Православия из Рима древнего - через Новый Рим, Царьград - в Третий Рим, Москву.  

Close window

Sainted Vasilii, Archbishop of Novgorod

Commemorated on July 3

      Sainted Vasilii, Archbishop of Novgorod, by surname Kalika (meaning "destitute wanderer or psalmodist"), was a priest at Novgorod and for his virtuous life was chosen to the Novgorod cathedra-seat. Saint Vasilii was ordained archbishop of Novgorod by the holy Metropolitan Theognist (+ 1353, Comm. 14 March) in Vladimir Volynsk in 1331. He headed the Novgorod cathedra during a terrible time of princely quarrels and inner factions within the city itself. Repeatedly he met with the Moscow Great-prince Ivan Kalita, inclining him towards peace with Novgorod. In 1344, when at Novgorod there gathered simultaneously two council-committees, hostile to each other, for throwing out the posadnik-mayor, the saint made peace between both sides. After two ruinous conflagrations occurred at Novgorod, Saint Vasilii displayed archpastoral concern for the devastated city: from cathedral funds he helped restore burnt-out buildings, he constructed a new bridge across the Vol'khov, and put monks at the churches. At the Borisoglebsk temple in Novgorod was preserved an icon of the holy nobleborn Princes Boris and Gleb, written by him. The self-sacrificing activity of Saint Vasilii was commented upon by a contemporary the chronicler, thus: "Grant him, O Lord, to live many years upon this world and afterwards put him at Thine right side, so much hath he toiled for Thy Church".
      The love of the saint for the flock is quite clearly shown, when at the request of the Pskov people he fearlessly went to their city during an epidemic of pestilential plague. Saint Vasilii made Divine-services in three churches, then went about the city in church procession, encouraging and comforting the fallen spirits of the inhabitants, but on the return journey to Novgorod he himself sickened and died on 3 July 1352, having like a good pastor given his soul for the sheep (Jn. 10: 11).
      From his preserved works there is known his "Missive about Earthly Paradise", written in 1347 and directed to the Tver bishop Theodore the Good. With the name of holy Archbishop Vasilii is connected the account about the white klobuk (head-piece), presented to the Vladyka as a gift from the Patriarch of Constantinople. By tradition, this klobuk was entrusted by the holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Constantine (+ 337, Comm. 21 May) to Saint Sylvester, Pope of Rome (+ 335, account about him is under 2 January). The white klobuk of Saint Vasilii was for the Russian Church a symbol of pre-eminent transfer of the spiritual centre of Orthodoxy from Old Rome, through New Rome, Tsar'grad (Constantinople), to the Third Rome, Moscow.

1996-2001 by translator Fr. S. Janos.

Close window

                            

Close window