Святой мученик Михаил Вурлиот

Дни памяти: 16 апреля

Святой мученик Михаил Вурлиот родился около 1754 года в семье ремесленников. Мальчик рос набожным, но характер его был неустойчив.
Статный и красивый юноша обратил внимание содержателя кофейни в городе Смирне. Турок обласкал его и убедил принять магометанство, чтобы работать в кофейне. Юноша согласился и с удовольствием стал исполнять службу. Но вот наступила Святая Пасха, и он услышал торжествующую песнь христиан: "Христос воскресе из мертвых, смертию смерть поправ и сущим во гробех живот даровав!" Всей душой почувствовав, что и он - Христов, что и его Господь призывает в Свою радость, юноша подошел к певшим, но услышал упреки в отступничестве. "Завтра же вы увидите, кто я такой", - грустно сказал он христианам.
Немедленно он направился к мусульманскому судье и спросил, законен ли обмен свинца на золото? Если обмен совершен обманом, то можно ли обманутому взять назад золото? "Можно и законно", - ответил судья магометанин. "Если так, - сказал святой Михаил, - возьми назад свой свинец, который ты отдал мне за золото, - возьми назад свою веру и возврати мне мое золото - веру моих отцов". После этих слов мученик открыто исповедал Иисуса Христа Истинным Богом, Судией живых и умерших.
Турки заключили исповедника в тюрьму, а через два дня отсекли голову († 1772). Его тело три дня лежало без погребения и осталось неповрежденным. Турки бросили его в море, но корабельщики достали тело и похоронили в храме святой Фотинии.

Close window

The Holy Martyr Michael Burliotes

Commemorated on April 16

      The Holy Martyr Michael Burliotes was born in about the year 1754 into a farm family. the boy was raised piously, but his character was flawed.
      The handsome and ruddy youth caught the attention of the owner of a coffee-house in the city of Smyrna. The Turk flattered him and urged him to accept Mahometanism, so as to work at the coffee-house. The youth consented and with delight he began his employment. But then came Holy Pascha, and he heard the triumphant song of Christians: "Christ is risen from the dead, trampling down death by death, and upon those in the tomb bestowing life!" With all his soul he sensed, that he also was of Christ, that the Lord was summoning him into His joy, and the youth went down to the singers, but he heard reproaches for his apostasy. "Tomorrow ye will see, what I am", he said sadly to the Christians.
      He immediately set off to the Mussulman judge and asked, whether it was lawful to barter in exchange swine for gold? If the barter exchange were made by deceit, then could the defrauded take back the gold? "Both possible and lawful", answered the Mahometan judge. "If that is so, said Saint Michael, take back thine swine which thou didst give me for gold, take back thine faith and return me my gold the faith of my fathers". After these words the martyr openly confessed Jesus Christ as the True God, the Judge of both the living and the dead.
      The Turks locked up the confessor in prison, and after two days they cut off his head (+ 1772). His body lay for three days without burial and remained without decay. The Turks threw it into the sea, but sailors took up the body and buried it at the church of Saint Photinia.

1996-2001 by translator Fr. S. Janos.

Close window

                            

Close window