Святые апостолы Аристарх, Пуд и Трофим

Дни памяти: 15 апреля

      Святые апостолы Аристарх, Пуд и Трофим были из числа 70-ти апостолов, которых Господь Иисус Христос послал перед Собою с Евангельским благовестием (Лк. 10, 1-24). Святой апостол Аристарх, сотрудник святого апостола Павла, стал епископом сирийского города Апамеи. Имя его неоднократно упоминается в книге Деяний святых апостолов (Деян. 19, 29; 20, 4; 27, 2) и в Посланиях апостола Павла (Кол. 4, 10; Флп. 1, 24).
      Святой апостол Пуд упоминается во 2-м Послании апостола Павла к Тимофею (2 Тим. 4, 21). Он занимал высокое положение члена римского Сената. В своем доме святой принимал первоверховных апостолов, собирал верующих христиан. Дом его был обращен в церковь, получившую название "Пастырской". В ней, по преданию, священнодействовал сам святой апостол Петр.
      Святой апостол Трофим происходил из города Едессы. Имя его упоминается в Книге Деяний святых апостолов (Деян. 20, 4) и во 2-м Послании апостола Павла к Тимофею (2 Тим. 4, 20). Он был учеником и спутником святого апостола Павла, разделяя с ним все скорби и гонения.
      Все три апостола приняли мученическую кончину в Риме при императоре Нероне (54-68), одновременно со святым апостолом Павлом († ок. 67).

Close window

Святой апостол Аристарх

Святой апостол Аристарх
Святой апостол Трофим
Святой апостол Трофим

Close window

The Holy Disciples Aristarchus, Pudas and Trophymos

Commemorated on April 15

      The Holy Disciples Aristarchus, Pudas and Trophymos were from among the Seventy Disciples, whom the Lord Jesus Christ had sent before him with the good-news of the Gospel (Lk. 10: 1-24).
      The holy Disciple Aristarchus, a co-worker of the holy Apostle Paul, became bishop of the Syrian city of Apameia. His name is repeatedly mentioned in the book of the Acts of the Holy Apostles (Acts 19: 29, 20: 4, 27: 2) and in the Epistles of the Apostle Paul (Col. 4: 10, Philemon 1: 24).
      The holy Disciple Pudas is mentioned in the 2nd Epistle of the Apostle Paul to Timothy (2 Tim. 4: 21). He occupied high position as a member of the Roman Senate. At his home the saint took in the First-Ranked Apostles Peter and Paul, and believing Christians gathered. His house was converted into a church, receiving the name "Pastorum". In it, according to tradition, the holy Apostle Peter himself served as priest.
      The holy Disciple Trophymos hailed from the city of Edessa. His name is mentioned in the book of the Acts of the Holy Apostles (Acts 20: 4) and in the 2nd Epistle of the Apostle Paul to Timothy (2 Tim. 4: 20). He was a student and companion of the holy Apostle Paul, sharing with him all the sorrows and persecution.
      All these three holy disciples accepted a martyr's death at Rome under the emperor Nero (54-68), concurrent with that of the Apostle Paul ( c. 67).

1996-2001 by translator Fr. S. Janos.

Close window

The Holy Disciple Aristarchus

The Holy Disciple Aristarchus
The Holy Disciple Trophymos
The Holy Disciple Trophymos

Close window